Song of the Day, 01.16.2012: “40′” by Franz Ferdinand

Franz Ferdinand

Franz Ferdinand

Rationale:

I really like the way this song starts, with the one creeping guitar, which builds with the bass and then expands further to become the backing instrumentation.  Then the voice comes in – it’s occasionally off-putting for me to listen to a lot of Franz Ferdinand’s music, because the voice seems relatively nonchalant, but in this case, it comes off closer to being wistful.  I’m not 100% on the lyrical content, but it seems to involve a slow-motion plunge, describing the way the senses sort of blur to a halt and everything can be taken in visually before the plummet ends… That’s what I get out of it anyway.  My primary reason for picking this song is because of the instrumentation – it’s gritty, hard, and a thrill to listen to.  I hope you like it, too.

Listen Here:

Lyrics:

As i glance once upon the foam
40′ beneath my feet
The coldest calm falls
Through the molten veins
Cooling all the blood to slush
That congeals around the again

La la la
40′ remain

Salt scales upon my drying arms
Burn my back beneath the sun
But I am cold beneath the burning rays
Lookingdown, looking down
Down, down again

La la la
40′ remain

Comments
2 Responses to “Song of the Day, 01.16.2012: “40′” by Franz Ferdinand”
  1. I listened to this song earlier today. Actually, I was listening to the whole album, but I paid extra attention to this one since I remembered you asking me if I liked it. It’s not my favorite on the album, but it’s a good one. I forgot how much I enjoyed them.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] 43. Song of the Day, 01.16.2012: “40′” by Franz Ferdinand […]



Leave a comment

  • Statistics

    • 9,194 views